Local Phone Number (918) 641-4044
Toll Free Statewide 800-ASK-WLAW
Tulsa Personal Injury Attorney

Tulsa Law Blog

Schedule Consultation

New Car Seat Laws in Oklahoma Effective November 1st.

Posted onOctober 22, 2015

According to the Oklahoma Child Death Review Board, 69 children died in car crash-related deaths last year. Nearly half of those children were not properly restrained in car seats or their seat belts.

It’s the leading cause of death for children in Oklahoma.

To combat this, effective November 1st, Oklahoma is tightening the rules for car seats that requires all kids eight and younger to be in a car or booster seat. Children under 2 years old must be in a rear-facing car seat. Children 2 to 4 can use a front-facing seat, and children over 4, before their 8th birthday or shorter than 57 inches, must be in some type of car or booster seat.

Under the old law, a booster seat was only required for children up to 5 years old, but research shows that’s not enough. Beginning November 1, law enforcement will begin issuing citations for not complying with the new car seat law.

For a helpful and easy to understand guide on the new laws, visit our Facebook site here.

————–

Well-meaning parents commonly  make mistakes when installing car seats, and that can have devastating consequences for children involved in car accidents who aren’t properly secured. With the laws changing next month, now is an excellent time to have your car seat installation inspected by a certified car seat installer. There are resources where you can have your car seats inspected and properly installed, free of charge, all over Oklahoma. It just takes a few minutes to swing by one of these locations and have your restraints checked out and securely installed. What follows below is a list of sites by county as provided by the Oklahoma Department of Transportation:

CAR SEAT INSPECTION/ASSISTANCE SITES IN OKLAHOMA
Listed alphabetically by City
Anadarko
Caddo County Health Department
216 W. Broadway
405-247-2507
Christy Johnson
ChristyJ@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Anadarko
Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
CHR
405-247-7000
Angie McCarthy
Additional Information:
Antlers
Pushmataha County Health Department
318 West Main
580-298-6624
Keri Wayman
KeriW@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Ardmore
Ardmore Fire Department
115 N. Rockford Rd
580-221-2550
Gabriel Parker
Gparker@ardmorecity.com
Additional Information:
Ardmore
Carter/Love County Safe Kids Coalition
Carter County Health Department
405 S. Washington
580-223-9705
Anna Duran
AnnaD@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Atoka
Atoka County Health Department
1006 W. 13th Street
580-889-2116
Angie Frost
AngieF@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Beaver
Beaver County Health Department
Highway 270 South
580-625-3693
Stephanie Jett
StephJ@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Bixby
Bixby Police Department
116 W. Needles
918-362-8294
Eric Smoot
bixbypolice@bixby.com
Additional Information: Alternate contact: Lisa Stout
Blackwell
Kay County Health Department
1706 S. Main
580-363-5520
Kim Evans
KimE@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Blanchard
McClain County Health Department
Blanchard Office
107 South Main
405-485-3319
Alex Hart-Smith
AlexandH@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Bristow
Creek County Health Department
408 W. 4th Street
918-367-3341
Pat Danner
PatAD@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Chandler
Lincoln County Health Department
101 Meadow Lane
405-258-2640
Paula Booze
PaulaB@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Claremore
Rogers County Safe Kids Coalition
Claremore Fire Department
121 N. Weenonah
918-341-5101
Mark Owens
lifesfty@yahoo.com
Additional Information:
Cleveland
Pawnee County Health Department
1390 W. Cherokee
918-358-2546
Rhonda Jech
RhondaJ@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Clinton
Custer County Health Department
3030 Custer Ave.
580-323-2100
Daniela Franco
DanielaF@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Coalgate
Coal County Health Department
1404 South Highway 75
580-927-2367
Deborah Fanning
DeborahF@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Collinsville
Collinsville EMS
918-371-1071
Elizabeth Sullivan
Additional Information:
Coweta
Wagoner County Health Department
28596 E. 141 St South
918-486-2845
Virginia Lindsey
VirginiL@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Drumright
Creek County Health Department
420 E. Broadway
918-352-9581
Pat Danner
PatAD@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Duncan
Stephens County Health Department
1401 Bois D’Arc
580-252-0270
Lori Elam
LoriDE@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Durant
Bryan County Health Department
1524 W. Chuckwa
580-924-4285
Additional Information:
Edmond
Edmond Fire Department
5300 E Covell Rd
405-216-7315
Gary Dill
Gary.Dill@ci.edmond.ok.us
Additional Information: By appointment
Elk City
Beckham County Health Department
Elk City Office
400 East 3rd Street
580-225-1173
Jo Miller
Joemi@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Enid
Garfield County Health Department
2501 Mercer Dr.
580-233-0650
Teresa Bailey
TeresaMB@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Enid
Garfield County Safe Kids Coalition
Integris Bass Baptist Health Center
600 South Munroe
580-548-1110
Anita Andrew
anita.andrew@integris-health.com
Additional Information:
Fairview
Major County Safe Kids Chapter
1st United Methodist Church
316 N. 7th
580-227-3434
Jan Tinsley-Marshall
fairviewumc@sbcglobal.net
Additional Information:
Frederick
Tillman County Health Department
1500 N. Main
580-335-2163
Juanita McBride
JuanitaM@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Guthrie
Logan County Health Department
215 Fairgrounds Rd, Ste A
405-282-3485
Heather Ward
HeatherW@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Guymon
Texas County Health Department
1410 N. East Street
580-338-8544
Karen Medina
KarenMM@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Holdenville
Hughes County Health Department
200 McDougal Dr
405-379-3313
Patsy Turner
PatriciaT@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Hollis
Harmon County Health Department
1104 N. 7th
580-688-3348
Tina Alvarado
ArgentiA@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Hugo
Choctaw County Health Department
103 South 4th Street
580-326-8821
Laura Rogers
laurar@health.ok.gov
Additional Information: By Appointment Only
Jay
Delaware County Safe Kids Chapter
Arvest Bank
918-253-4235
Becki Farley
rfarley@arvest.com
Additional Information:
Jay
Delaware County Health Department
432 S. 9th
918-253-4511
Marsha Larmon
MarshaR@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Kingfisher
Kingfisher County Health Department
124 East Sheridan
405-375-3008
Jenny Arms
JennyA@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Laverne
Harper County Health Department
Laverne Office
7th and Oklahoma, Ste 9
580-921-2029
Jolena Graves
JolenaG@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Lawton
Comanche Nation
Injury Prevention Program
580-492-3720
Bonita Paddyaker
comanchenation_chr@hotmail.com
Additional Information:
Lawton
Southwest Oklahoma Safe Kids Coalition
Southwestern Medical Center
5602 SW Lee Blvd
580-531-4740
Barbara Newton
barbara.newton@Capellahealth.com
Additional Information:
Lawton
Comanche County Health Department
1010 S. Sheridan
580-248-5890
Ava Williams
AvaW@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Madill
Marshall County Health Department
310 W. Lillie Blvd
580-795-3705
Juana Diaz
JuanaMD@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Mangum
Greer County Health Department
2100 N. Louis Tittle
580-782-5531
Arline Thompson
ArlineT@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Marietta
Love County Health Department
200 C.E. Colston Dr.
580-276-2531
Jill Miller
JillM@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
McAlester
Pittsburg County Health Department
620 S. Third
918-423-1267
Lesa Curry
LesaC@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Miami
Ottawa County Health Department
1930 N. Elm
918-540-2481
Jamie Johnston
JamieJ@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Miami
Ottawa County Safe Kids Chapter
Partners for Ottawa County Youth
918-540-1536
Alta McKee
ottawatribalCHR@hotmail.com
Additional Information:
Midwest City
Tinker AFB
405-734-4390
Robyn Crowder
robyn.crowder@cox.net
Additional Information:
Midwest City
Midwest City Fire Department
Fire Marshal’s Office
100 N. Midwest Boulevard
405-739-1356
Casey Hoeflein
choeflein@midwestcityok.org
Additional Information:
Moore
Cleveland County Health Department
224 South Chestnut
405-794-1591
Alex Hart-Smith
AlexandH@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Muskogee
Muskogee County Safe Kids Chapter
918-869-6295
Cindy O’Keefe
coke74402@yahoo.com
Additional Information:
Norman
Cleveland County Health Department
250 12th Ave. NE
405-321-4048
Alex Hart-Smith
AlexandH@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Norman
Norman Police Department
201-B West Gray Street
405-366-5267
Jennifer Newell
jennifer.newell@ci.norman.ok.us
Additional Information: By Appointment Only
Okemah
Okfuskee County Health Department
125 North 2nd St
918-623-1800
Arlean Wortham
ArleanW@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Oklahoma City
Safe Kids Oklahoma
OU Children’s Hospital
940 NE 13th St, Rm 3N3500
405-271-5695
Martha Collar
martha-collar@ouhsc.edu
Additional Information: Scheduled events and by appointment
Oklahoma City
OK State Department of Health
Injury Prevention Service
1000 N.E. 10th Street
405-271-3430
Angie Bowles
angieb@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Oklahoma City
Latino Community Development Agency
420 SW 10th Street
405-236-0701
Julia Koelsch
tsafety@latinoagencyokc.org
Additional Information: Serving the Latino community, pre-registration required
Oklahoma City
OK Highway Safety Office
3223 N. Lincoln Blvd.
405-523-1570
Jay Wall
jwall@dps.state.ok.us
Additional Information: By Appointment Only
Oklahoma City
EMSA – Okla City
1111 N. Classen Dr.
405-297-7018
Pam Stottman
carseatlady@yahoo.com
Additional Information: Scheduled events and by appointment
Pawhuska
Osage Nation
CHR
1333 Grandview
918-287-5375
David Murray
dmurray@osagetribe.org
Additional Information:
Ponca City
Kay County Health Department
433 Fairview
580-762-1641
Tanya Pike
TanyaP@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Poteau
LeFlore County Health Department
1212 Reynolds
918-647-8601
Carllene Karl
TeresaK@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Purcell
McClain County Health Department
Purcell Office
919 N. 9th Street
405-527-6541
Alex Hart-Smith
AlexandH@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Sallisaw
Sequoyah County Health Department
612 North Oak Street
918-775-6201
Angie Jones
AngieJ@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Sapulpa
Creek County Health Department
1808 S. Hickory
918-224-5531
Pat Danner
PatAD@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Sayre
Beckham County Health Department
Sayre Office
115 South 4th
580-928-5551
Jo Miller
Joemi@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Seminole
Seminole County Health Department
1900 Boren Blvd
405-382-4369
Joan Dotson
JoanH@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Stigler
Haskell County Health Department
1407 N.E. D Street
918-967-3304
Additional Information:
Stilwell
Stilwell EMS
503 W. Division
918-696-6943
Michael Little
stilwellems@alltel.net
Additional Information: By appointment
Stilwell
Adair County Safe Kids Chapter
Wilma Mankiller Clinic
918-696-8835
Latisha Locust
Latisha-locust@cherokee.org
Additional Information:
Tahlequah
Cherokee County Safe Kids Chapter
Cherokee County Health Department
912 S. College
918-456-8826
Lynne McAllister
lynnem@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Tahlequah
Cherokee Nation
Early Childhood Unit
918-458-4393
Terri Lynn Davis
ldavis@cherokee.org
Additional Information:
Tishomingo
Johnston County Health Department
1080 S. Byrd
580-371-2470
Brooke Pruitt
HeatherP@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Tulsa
Tulsa Safe Kids Coalition
St. Francis Hospital
6161 S. Yale
918-494-SAFE (7233)
Beth Washington
bawashington@saintfrancis.com
Additional Information: Scheduled events and by appointment
Tulsa
EMSA – Tulsa
1417 N. Lansing
918-596-3618
Pam Stottman
http://www.emsaonline.com/safetyseatindex.html
Additional Information: Scheduled events and by appointment
Tulsa
Tulsa Regional Medical Center
744 W. 9th St
494-7297
Beth Washington
bawashington@saintfrancis.com
Additional Information:
Tulsa
Tulsa Police Department
Special Operations Division
5963 E 13th St
918-669-6865
Craig Murray
cmurray@ci.tulsa.ok.us
Additional Information: By appointment
Tulsa
Tulsa Fire Department
Public Education
616 S. 73rd E. Ave
918-669-6187
Mike Harris
mharris@ci.tulsa.ok.us
Additional Information:
Vinita
Craig County Safe Kids Chapter
Craig County Health Department
115 E. Delaware
918-256-7531
Anna Marie McSpadden
AnnaMc@health.ok.gov
Additional Information: May also contact Amy DeVore (email: amyd@health.ok.gov)
Wagoner
Wagoner County Health Department
212 N. Pierce
918-485-3022
Virginia Lindsey
VirginiL@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Walters
Cotton County Health Department
1501-A South 7th
580-875-6121
Melody Seigler
MelodyS@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Watonga
Blaine County Health Department
521 W. 4th Street
580-623-7977
Teresa Welge
TeresaAW@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Waurika
Jefferson County Health Department
107 East Anderson Avenue
580-228-2313
Candace Griffin
CandaceZ@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Weatherford
Custer County Health Department
220 North Bradley
580-772-6417
Daniela Franco
DanielaF@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Wewoka
Seminole County Health Department
200 S. Brown
405-257-5401
Jan Hager
JanH@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Wilburton
Latimer County Health Department
201 West Main
918-465-5673
Lori Reddick
LoriR@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:
Woodward
Woodward County Health Department
1631 Texas Avenue
580-256-6416
Cathy Wright
CathyW@health.ok.gov
Additional Information:

request free consultation

Discover why our clients return to us and recommend us to their family, friends and acquaintances.
Contact us today and put one of Tulsa's preeminent personal injury law firms to work for you.
  • call us now

    Local Phone Number (918) 641-4044

    Toll Free Statewide 800-ASK-WLAW

  • Our Location

    Tulsa Office Southbrook Building
    4835 South Peoria Ave. Suite 1
    Tulsa, OK 74105

    Oklahoma City Office 3030 NW Expressway
    Suite 200 # 392
    Oklahoma City, OK 73112

  • get in touch