Beginning this month, law enforcement officers in Oklahoma can now seize license plates from uninsured vehicles and assign temporary insurance.
When a citation is issued for failure to comply with the compulsory insurance law, it serves as a temporary license plate for 10 days, during which temporary liability insurance will be effective. The cost of the coverage will be added to the fees and fines that must be paid before the tag is returned. The fine for failing to comply with the compulsory insurance law is $250.
The Oklahoma Insurance Department estimates that nearly 563,700 vehicles in the state are uninsured, costing the state approximately $8.8 million in lost excise tax on insurance policy premiums, not to mention the problems that arise when one of these uninsured drivers causes an accident. Without Uninsured Motorist coverage, there is often very little that a Tulsa personal injury lawyer is able to do for a potential client to help them recover for their injuries and property damage in an auto accident. For more on Uninsured Motorist coverage and why you should have it, see our previous blog posts.
Tell us what you think: Is this law strong enough to make a difference? We want to hear from you! Please go to our Facebook page here and join the discussion!
Local Phone Number (918) 641-4044
Toll Free Statewide 833-ASK-WLAW
1202 East 33rd Street
Tulsa, OK 74105
3030 NW Expressway
Suite 200 # 392
Oklahoma City, OK 73112